The Manipur University of Culture was established in 2015 after the Government of Manipur introduced a Bill called “The Manipur University of Culture Bill, 2015” in the Manipur Legislative Assembly. The Government of Manipur took a bold decision to establish this culture university with a hope of promoting Art & Culture and rich Cultural Heritage of India. Specially, the Manipur University of Culture was set up as a Model University in the field of Art and Culture in the history of Indian academy. The Bill received the assent of the Hon’ble Governor of Manipur on the 10th April 2015. The Act was published in the Manipur Gazette on May 5, 2015. Subsequently, the Government has appointed the 25th August 2015 as the date of Commencement of the Act.

The first Vice-Chancellor Prof N. Khogen Singh and the first Registrar Shri L. Joychandra Singh assumed their office on the 4th December 2015. The University was formally inaugurated by the Hon’ble Governor of Manipur on the 12th August 2016 in the presence of the Hon’ble Chief Minister and the Hon’ble Deputy Chief Minister, Government of Manipur.

The University Grants Commission has empowered the University to award degrees as specified by the UGC under Section 22 of the UGC Act 1956 through its own departments. This was communicated by the University Grants Commission in vide their letter No. letter No. F.9-17/2017 (CPP-1/PU) dated 6th November, 2017.

The office of the University is at present located at the premises of the building complex of the Department of Art and Culture, Government of Manipur, Palace Compound, Imphal. Initially the teaching programmes are conducting in the buildings of Imphal Art College, Government Dance College and Government Music College.

The University has been functioning with the commencement of its first Academic Session on the 20th September 2016. The following Graduate courses are offering at the University at present:

1. Graduate Course in Dance
2. Graduate Course in Music
3. Graduate Course in Sankirtana
4. Graduate Course in Umang Lai Haraoba
5. Graduate Course in Thang-Ta
6. Graduate Course in Theatre
7. Graduate Course in Tribal Studies
8. Graduate Course in Visual Arts

Close Menu